Who We Are

Video is muted by default; click the volume button above to listen

Who we are

We are a dynamic, progressive synagogue that prioritises warmth over formality and is serious about Jewish life. We are dedicated to building a kinder, better world together as an engaged Jewish community. 

We are an inclusive synagogue. Our community is made all the richer by our members of different backgrounds, ethnicities, abilities, gender identities, sexualities, nationalities and races.

We make welcome those who are single, in couples, in families, interfaith, with children or without, those who come for the first time to learn or those who are moving from other Jewish homes. Everyone is welcome, wherever you come from.

Come as you are!

We are constantly developing our accessible services. If you have any access needs, or want more information, contact the office at or call on 020 8446 4063.

What you can expect in the community:

  • We are committed to creating meaningful Jewish experiences for our members and their families through learning, prayer and marking lifecycle events.
  • We celebrate being intergenerational and inclusive.
  • We are committed to making a difference both within the Jewish community (Tikkun Am) and the wider world (Tikkun Olam) through Social Justice and Social Action.
  • We are a community of people who take responsibility for each other.
  • We raise our young people to be thoughtful and confident Progressive Jews.

Our community

We are led by our charismatic rabbi, Rebecca Birk. Rabbi Rebecca’s intellect, kindness and humour have helped shape our community. She makes every congregant and visitor feel welcome and included.

Our Synagogue Manager, Caroline Bar-Gal, oversees many aspects of synagogue administration and premises management. She can be reached at or on 020 8446 4063 .

A Board of lay leaders and trustees manages the strategy and direction of our congregation; members working together for the benefit of the synagogue. Elected annually, members generally serve a maximum of three years. The Executive consists of the Chairperson, Vice-Chair, Treasurer and Honorary Secretary. Information on current Board members can be found here